TikTok testing new retweet feature
Although the feature is similar to Twitter's, retweeted content will not appear on a user's profile.
TikTok has announced it is experimenting with a new feature similar to Twitter's retweet function. Users may utilize this feature to share material with their followers without having to transmit videos one by one.
The new button appears under the "Share" area, where a user may already share material with specific followers or in other apps like WhatsApp or Instagram.
However, unlike Twitter, the content will not be reposted on a user's profile, according to TechCrunch. It will only appear on the "For You" feeds of a user's followers.
Similarly, only content in the "For You" feed can be reposted. Additionally, videos shared will also only be visible to mutual followers to ensure content creators do not abuse the feature to promote each other's videos.
The new function also gives users an opportunity to post a message with the reposted content.
TikTok's goal is to engage passive users on the site, and the new feature will provide artists with more opportunities to have their content recognized.